The Legal Framework for Arbitration in United Kingdom

General Information

Multilateral Conventions

  • New York Convention: Yes (ratification/accession: 24 September 1975); reservations: reciprocity; On 24 February 2014, the United Kingdom submitted a notification to extend territorial application of the Convention to the British Virgin Islands. For the following territories, the United Kingdom has submitted notifications extending territorial application and declaring that the Convention shall apply only to the recognition and enforcement of awards made in the territory of another Contracting State: Gibraltar (24 September 1975), Isle of Man (22 February 1979), Bermuda (14 November 1979), Cayman Islands (26 November 1980), Guernsey (19 April 1985), Bailiwick of Jersey (28 May 2002).
  • European Convention: No.  
  • ICSID Convention: Yes (ratification/accession: 19 December 1966); reservations: pursuant to Article 70 of the Convention, the United Kingdom has excluded from the application of the Convention the following territories on 19 June 1973: British Indian Ocean Territory, Pitcairn Islands, British Antarctic Territory, Sovereign Base Areas of Cyprus. On depositing its instrument of ratification, the United Kingdom excluded, inter alia, from its coverage Jersey and the Isle of Man. By notifications received on June 27, 1979, and November 17, 1983, respectively, the United Kingdom extended the application of the Convention to Jersey as of July 1, 1979, and to the Isle of Man as of November 1, 1983.     
  • Energy Charter Treaty: Yes (ratification/accession: 13 December 1996); reservations: none. 

Arbitral Institutions

Last updated July 2017